On July 1, 1927, the Air Services, which up to that date had been administered by the Director, Royal Canadian Air Force, under the Chief of Staff, were reorganized and divided into two divisions, as follows:---

(a) Military.

Royal Canadian Air Force.—The Royal Canadian Air Force, under the Chief of the General Staff, administers and controls all military air operations. The functions of the Royal Canadian Air Force are as follows:—

- (a) To provide adequate training facilities for all Government Air Services.
- (b) To provide a nucleus air force around which service units can be formed in the event of war.
- (c) To build up a reserve of pilots and mechanics.

The principal station of the Royal Canadian Air Force is at Camp Borden, Ontario, with other units at Vancouver, B.C. and Trenton, Ont.

The R.C.A.F. Station, Camp Borden, provides training for officers and airmen of the permanent and non-permanent personnels of the R.C.A.F., and also summer training for provisional pilot officers. Training is also provided, and trained personnel supplied, to the Civil Division of the Air Services. The training covers flying and ground subjects, co-operation with military services, and such other courses of instruction as may be necessary.

The R.C.A.F. Station, Vancouver, provides a seaplane training base for the Royal Canadian Air Force, as the R.C.A.F. Station, Camp Borden, provides training on land machines only.

The strength of the Royal Canadian Air Force, as at Dec. 31, 1931, was 178 officers and 709 other ranks.

(b) Civil.

To meet the growing needs of civil aviation, the following three branches were organized, under the Deputy Minister:—

Civil Government Air Operations.—This Branch is charged with the carrying out of all air operations required by any Dominion Government service, including the forest protection, survey and other miscellaneous work now carried out for the Departments of the Interior, Mines, Agriculture, Indian Affairs, National Revenue, Public Works, Railways and Canals, Marine, Fisheries, etc. The headquarters of the Branch is at Ottawa, and its operating bases are as follows:—main bases: Winnipeg, Man.; Ottawa, Ont.; sub-bases: Lac-du-Bonnet, Cormorant Lake, Ladder Lake, Man.; Fitzgerald, Alta. Eleven mobile photographic detachments and three mobile general purpose detachments undertake air photography and transportation respectively in all provinces.

The central stores and workshops for the Civil Division are administered as a part of this Branch. These are located at Victoria island, Ottawa.

Control of Civil Aviation.—The duties of this Branch include the inspection, licensing and registration of aircraft, airharbours, commercial and private air pilots, air engineers and air navigators. In addition to these duties, the location and construction of air routes and matters connected with airship services are administered in this Branch.